Author Topic: Newbie reporting... MG Strike and MK-II  (Read 4477 times)

August 12, 2008, 09:23:56 PM
Read 4477 times

taz1004

• Information
    • View Profile
Hi, It's been 25 years since I last touched a Gundam when I was 10.  Back then, it was just enamel and paintbrush.  I just picked it up again 4 months ago and I've been learning a ton from this excellent website as well as this forum.  I'm a bit embarrassed to put up my work because I've seen some amazing stuff here and mine pales in comparison... well... I'm still learning.

This was my first sacrifice in April. At the time, I didn't know where to start and Foo's tutorial gave me a clear direction and all I did was just follow. Made a lot of mistakes but learned a lot.

And my second. Finished this in June. MK-II was the reason I got back into gunpla.  I wanted a MK-II kit when I was 10 but couldn't afford it.  Now I can  ^_^

This is same as above but did some weathering and built a base.  Shot in my backyard... I love natural light!

August 12, 2008, 09:39:15 PM
Reply #1

mjbolin

• Information
    • View Profile
Dont be humble my dear boy! Your work is excellent and don't be ashamed for you have so far been the best "new" gunpla modeler I have seen emerge on this boards.

Yes the strike is a little messy, but your MK-II is simply sublime. A perfect wash and weathering. The only complaint I can muster is the green on the shield, it doesnt look right to me sorry and quite standoutish. But other than that you have a great work.

August 12, 2008, 09:46:03 PM
Reply #2

taz1004

• Information
    • View Profile
Yea, the shield, it's the part that bothers me the most too.  I used gold metallic on parts that are supposed to be yellow and just forgot about the shield.  Should redo that part when I get the chance.  Thank you for the input!

August 13, 2008, 01:32:28 AM
Reply #3

nath_1977

• Information
    • View Profile
    • http://www.mechapinoy.net