Author Topic: 1/16 Iraqi T-55  (Read 2762 times)

September 06, 2008, 11:26:00 AM
Read 2762 times

ildhane

• Information
    • View Profile
I joined this forum to get inspiration, but now i am stuck here, it is so much high quality and original stuff here.
It would be fair to show what i have done.
I am rather new to the whole modelling scene, i never did any kits as a kid or something like that. i went five years at art school, du i realized i dont want to be a artist so i just jumped off and started on the first and best school with something different, and i ended up at a course in model design in Oslo (norway (where i come from)) and went on to complete the bachelor degree at the university of hertfordshire right out side of london.

Now i am ready to start at my third and final year (help with my upcoming model? http://fichtenfoo.com/forum/index.php?topic=4223.0)
this tank was done as a final model in my second year. it was a 8 week project but my first idea of making a plane

But this was not good enough and i had to start all over again and lost one week, then i was offered work expirience at shepperton studios and worked on the next Harry potter movie (very, very proud of have been a part of that)

So i had five weeks left to do a final piece and accumulate all my skills from two years of school. i started to look around for stuff made up of very simple shapes, or shaped by very simple production methods. Like the first star wars models, Ma.k or and most old military equipment. So i landed on the Soviet T-55, it looks cool and it has _no_ difficoult shapes.

So i started up with a quick sketch in 3D

We are blessed with a lasercutter in our workshop, so most of the "mechanical" parts of this build is laser cutted acryllic.